CD recording in my home country Austria… day one: Introduzione – Allegro divertissimo

DSC02999

IMG_7764

It was with this spectacular view that a wonderful, intense and unforgettable time began for me in Ossiach in southern Austria. Ossiach is a small village with a large abbey and an even bigger and very well known summer festival, the “Carinthischer Sommer”.

It was actually in Ossiach that my career began – in 1988 Dr. Gerda Fröhlich, then director of the festival, invited me to perform a matinee of sonatas as part of their “Young Talents” cycle. The program consisted of one of the two-movement Mozart sonatas, the Cesar Franck sonata and Schubert’s Fantasy in C major.

This time is was not the Carinthischer Sommer, but the National Bank of Austria who made my stay in this beautiful and special place possible. Every year, as part of its project “Wertvolle Klänge” (“Precious Sounds”), a CD is recorded with instruments from its collection and the players of those instruments. This serves not only to create an archive of the sound of the instruments, but also to have Christmas gifts to offer the bank’s clients.

After Christmas, I can buy back the master tape and all the rights to the recording – a very generous gesture of the Austrian National Bank. A big thank you to my loyal sponsors over so many years.

For my CD, the newly built, acoustically brilliant Alban Berg Saal was chosen! I was accompanied by the Kärntner Symphonieorchester under the baton of Martin Kerschbaum.

DSC02989

The program of the CD reflects my musical heritage:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz von Suppe, Franz Lehár and Kurt Schwertsik.

The first day began with the violin concerto by Kurt Schwertsik. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kurt_Schwertsik

pe_kurt_schwertsikWhen I think of Kurt Schwertsik, I think of Joseph Haydn – not stylistically of course! Schwertsik has his own tonal language, but the intelligent humor in his music reminds me so much of Haydn!

The piece has five movements. The opening and closing movements frame the middle movements, which clearly distinguish themselves from the outer movements by their contrasting, colorful ambiences. The charming diversity in Schwertsik´s music is what makes it bewitching. However, there is also a challenging side to it, which could cause one to break a sweat – if it weren’t for such wonderful colleagues…

Let me begin with Martin Kerschbaum – what a fantastic, musical accompanist! Martin’s precision, stability and clarity on the podium really eased the difficulties of this piece for all of us. His ability to empathize  – musically as well as personally – deserves special mention.

DSC03011

(During a “rehearsal in the break”, going over the upcoming passages one more time…)

A big thank you to my colleagues of the Kärntner Symphonieorchester, who, with their exceptional professionalism and graciousness, created a work environment in which it was possible for me to forget the pressure, let go of the tension, and just give myself over to my bliss. THANK YOU!

A special thanks goes to principal conductor Alexander Soddy, who generously gave his time for a preparatory rehearsal of the Schwertsik.

In my next blog entry I’ll introduce “the incorruptible voice from inside the speaker”, my recording director. The one who isn’t heard, but whose ear, ability, and love for the music and musicians make him the real protagonist of this project. I really look forward to telling you about this special human being.

Tired and contented, we rounded off the first day of recording with a delicious meal and a fine glass of Austrian wine at our delightful lodgings, the “Stiftschmiede”.

Days two and three to follow shortly!

Much love and talk to you soon,

Birgit

(transalation Maja Plüddemann)

CD Aufnahme in der Heimat… 1.Tag: Introduzione – Allegro divertissimo

DSC02999

IMG_7764

Mit so einem Morgenausblick begann eine wunderschöne, intensive und unvergessliche Zeit in Ossiach, im Süden Österreichs. Ossiach ist ein kleines Dorf mit einem grossen Stift und einem noch grösserem und sehr bekannten Sommer Festival, dem Carinthischen Sommer.

In Ossiach begann eigentlich meine Karriere – 1988 wurde ich von der damaligen Festival Direktorin Dr. Gerda Fröhlich zu einer Sonaten Matinee im Rahmen ihres „Junge Talente“ Zyklus eingeladen. Auf dem Programm stand eine der zweisätzigen Mozart Sonaten, die Cesar Franck Sonate und Schuberts Fantasie in C-Dur.

Diesmal war es nicht der Carinthische Sommer, sondern die Oesterreichische Nationalbank, die mir diesen herrlichen Aufenthalt an diesem so besonderen Ort ermöglichte. Im Rahmen ihres Projekts „Wertvolle Klänge“ wird jedes Jahr eine CD mit Instrumenten aus ihrer Sammlung und deren Spieler aufgenommen um einerseits den Klang ihrer Instrumente zu archivieren und andererseits auch ihre Kunden zu Weihnachten zu beschenken.

Nach Weihnachten kann ich dann das Masterband bereits zurückkaufen und somit auch alle Rechte – eine mehr als grosszügige Geste der OeNB. Ein grosses Dankeschön an meine jahrelangen und treuen Förderer!

Für meine CD wurde als Aufnahmeort der neugebaute, akustisch aussergewöhlich gute Alban Berg Saal ausgewählt! Begleitet wurde ich vom Kärntner Symphonieorchester und Martin Kerschbaum stand mir als Dirigent zur Seite.

DSC02989

Das Programm der CD entspricht meiner musikalischen Herkunft:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz von Suppe, Franz Lehár und Kurt Schwertsik

Der erste Tag begann mit dem Violinkonzert von Kurt Schwertsik http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kurt_Schwertsik

pe_kurt_schwertsik

Wenn ich an Kurt Schwertsik denke, denke ich gleichzeitig an Joseph Haydn – natürlich nicht stilistisch! Schwertsik hat seine ganz eigene Tonsprache, aber es ist sein intelligenter Humor in seiner Musik, der mich so an Haydn erinnert!

Das Stück ist fünfsätzig.  Anfangs- und Schlusssatz umklammern sozusagen die Mittelsätze, die sich  in ihren so unterschiedlichen, farbenreichen Stimmungsbildern ganz klar von den Ecksätzen abgrenzen. Es ist die charmante Vielfalt von Schwertsik’s Musik, die bezaubert! Aber es gibt auch die herausfordernde Seite – die, die einen, hätte man nicht so grossartige Kollegen an seiner Seite, ins Schwitzen kommen lassen könnte….

Ich beginne mit Martin Kerschbaum – er war ein fantastischer, musikalischer Begleiter! Martins Präzision, seine Stabilität und seine dirigentische Klarheit erleichterten mir und meinen Orchesterkollegen dieses schwierige Stück unglaublich! Sein musikalisches, wie auch menschliches Einfühlungsvermögen wird noch ausführlich gepriesen werden!

DSC03011

(hier bei einer „Pausenprobe“ um die kommenden Passagen noch einmal gemeinsam durchzugehen…)

Mein  grosser Dank gilt meinen Kollegen des Kärntner Symphonieorchesters, die mir nicht nur auf höchstem musikalischen, sondern auch auf einem so aussergewöhnlich hohem menschlichen Niveau eine Arbeitsatmosphäre schufen, die es mir ermöglichte, mich von jeglichem Druck, von jeglicher Anspannung zu befreien und mich ganz meiner Herzensfreude hinzugeben! DANKE!

Mein besonderer Dank gilt auch dem Chefdirigenten des Orchesters, Alexander Soddy, der grosszügigerweise seine Zeit für eine Schwertsik Vorprobe zu Verfügung stellte!

Den „unsichtbaren Mann im Hintergrund“ , die „unbestechliche Stimme aus dem Lautsprecher“, meinen Aufnahmeleiter werde ich im nächsten Blogeintrag  ganz genau vorstellen. Er ist der, den man nicht hört, aber dessen Ohr, dessen Kapazität, dessen Liebe zur Musik und zu den Musikern ihn zum eigentlichen Protagonisten dieses Projekts macht! Ich freue mich sehr darauf, über diesen besonderen Mensch zu berichten!

So liessen wir den ersten Aufnahmetag zufrieden und gut müde bei einem herrlichen Essen und einem guten Glaserl österreichischen Weines in unserem wunderschönen Quartier, der „Stiftschmiede“, ausklingen.

Tag zwei und drei folgen in Kürze!

Alles Liebe und bis bald,

Birgit